The second book in the spellbinding, epic adventure series from 'the Godmother of Fantasy', Diana Wynne Jones.
For centuries Dalemark has been a land divided by the warring earldoms of the North and South. Now, with the help of the Undying, the mysterious gods of Dalemark, four extraordinary young people must join forces to reunify their beloved land.
After his father mysteriously goes missing, Mitt joins a group of freedom fighters plotting to overthrow the tyrannical ruler of Holand. But when his assassination attempt against the earl backfires, Mitt stows away onboard a ship heading out to sea. As the boat is battered by storms, Mitt finds himself alone among his enemies - except for the figure of Drowned Ammet....
©1977 Diana Wynne Jones (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

Praise for Diana Wynne Jones:
"Her hallmarks include laugh-aloud humour, plenty of magic and imaginative array of alternate worlds. Yet, at the same time, a great seriousness is present in all of her novels, a sense of urgency that links Jones's most outrageous plots to her readers' hopes and fears...." (Publishers Weekly)
"The best writer of magic there is." (Neil Gaiman)
"Truly magical - guaranteed to leave you gasping - even hotter than Potter." (The Bookseller)
Praise for Howl's Moving Castle:
"Imaginative and terribly funny." (Michael Morpurgo, The Telegraph 100 Best Books a Child Should Read)
"Wit and humor glint from the pages." (The Horn Book)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £11.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Cait on 08-11-16

Another great book from Diana Wynne Jones

Loved this from beginning to end. The narrator does a fine job of differentiating between the characters, without feeling obliged to do the drama school audition thing. I am eagerly anticipating the other two books in the quartet, and I hope that this narrator will be doing at least one of them. I also really like the fact the book is unabridged!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews