Everything on a Waffle : Coal Harbor

  • by Polly Horvath
  • Narrated by Kathleen McInerney
  • Series: Coal Harbor
  • 3 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Primrose Squarp simply knows her parents did not perish at sea during a terrible storm, despite what the other residents of Coal Harbour believe. For all practical purposes, Primrose is an orphan, and there's no great clamoring of prospective adopters. After realizing the impracticality of continuing to pay Miss Perfidy (a mothball-scented elderly lady) an hourly wage to baby-sit her, the town council places her with Uncle Jack, who reluctantly takes her in. Primrose does warm up to him, but her true sanctuary is a local restaurant called The Girl on the Red Swing, where everything, including lasagna, is served on a waffle, and where the proprietor, Miss Bowzer, offers a willing ear. Through a mixture of eccentric humor and probing philosophy, author Polly Horvath makes Primrose's search for peace and understanding a most memorable one. Everything on a Waffle was a 2002 Newbery Medal Honor Book.


What the Critics Say

"A laugh-out-loud pleasure from beginning to triumphant end." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Absolutely amazing

Would you consider the audio edition of Everything on a Waffle to be better than the print version?

yes definitely....there is nothing more better than closing your eyes and imagining the purely heart touching story 😊

What was one of the most memorable moments of Everything on a Waffle?

one of my favourites was when the little girl denies to believe her parents are dead

What does Kathleen McInerney bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Her beautiful expression was the one thing you would of defiantly miss....

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

yes...I would get very annoyed if someone disturbed me....it's great to listen to it in all one sitting

Read full review

- Rabia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-10-2003
  • Publisher: Listening Library