Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know

  • by Hamilton Wright Mabie
  • Narrated by Samantha Worthen
  • 11 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This volume contains a collection of fairy tales from a wide array of classical works. These immortal tales include "The Enchanted Stag", "Twelve Brothers", "Puss in Boots", "Jack and the Beanstalk", "The Princess and the Pea", "The Ugly Duckling", "The Light Princess", "Beauty and the Beast", "Hansel and Gretel", "Jack the Giant Killer", "The Second Voyage of Sinbad the Sailor", and "The Story of Aladdin, or the Wonderful Lamp".


Audible Editor Reviews

In 1905 Hamilton Wright Mabie published Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know, as distinguished from the author's similar works, Famous Stories Every Child Should Know and Myths Every Child Should Know. What does Mabie require children to know in this audiobook? Actress Samantha Worthen tells listeners the familiar fairy tales of Cinderella, Puss in Boots, and Sleeping Beauty as well as lesser known tales from The Arabian Nights, the Brothers Grimm, Aesop's Fables, Charles Perault, Hans Christian Andersen, and others. Worthen's warm, amiable, child-friendly voice brings a light to sometimes dark material. In classic children's narratives she has clearly found a genre where she can shine.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too American for me

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Don't get me wrong, I love most things American - great writers, actors, TV dramas, movies - cultural beacon of the western world, etc. But the narrator was just too saccharine-sweet, monotonously ploddingly cutesy for my taste - and, I suspect, for any Brit's taste. To be fair, the stories are good and my children seem to like it (I bought this for long car journeys), but it would be sooo much better with a different narrator.

Read full review

- R. Reed

Not for children

Too many high level words are used for children. Language (but not stories) suit teenagers.
Read full review

- Delana Ro

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-02-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios