Grimms' Fairy Tales 2 (Unabridged Selections)

  • by Brothers Grimm
  • Narrated by Laura Paton
  • 2 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jacob and Wilhelm's first book of fairy tales, Children's and Household Tales, published in 1812, included 86 folktales and was an instant success. Shortly thereafter, the brothers incorporated 70 more stories in their next volume of Grimms' Fairy Tales. This continued for six more editions! The complete collection contains over 200 stories, and is probably the best-known work of German literature.
Filled with fantasy, magic, and talking animals, these enchanting tales for children often teach a lesson about moral values, and right from wrong. Reader Laura Paton's warmth and flair for characters, paired with bright and exciting classical music, results in a memorable production that younger listeners will enjoy again and again.
In this title you will find The Wolf and the Seven Little Kids, The Pack of Ragamuffins, Brother and Sister, The Three Snake-Leaves, The Boots of Buffalo-Leather, The Drummer, The Three Spinners, Old Rinkrank, The Grave Mound, The Master Thief, The Hare and the Hedgehog, The Little Folks' Presents, Master Cobbler's Awl, and The Three Sluggards.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

Known as much for their morality as their sometimes-macabre themes, the fairy tales written by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm in the 19th century experience a modern revival in this refreshingly narrated collection. Voice actor Laura Patton brings a brightness and vitality to her performance, voicing characters with great gusto, including a brave young king, an intimidating wolf, and a blustery giant. Children and adults alike will be charmed, chilled, and enthralled by these 14 stories carefully chosen from the more than 200 originally written by the Brothers Grimm.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-09-2005
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks