Little Women

  • by Louisa May Alcott
  • Narrated by Lee Ann Howlett, Amanda Friday, P. J. Morgan, Tiffany Halla Colonna, Becca Maggie, Elizabeth Klett, Andy Harrington
  • 18 hrs and 37 mins
  • original_recording Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

First published in 1869, Little Women is the story of four sisters growing up against the background of the American Civil War. Alcott wrote the book at the urging of the publisher, Thomas Niles, who was seeking a story about girls that would have popular appeal. Although it was commenced essentially as a children's book, it developed into something of a bildungsroman, which touches on more serious issues such as the difficulties faced by single-parent families, the death of a sibling, and fractured relationships.
The book was an immediate success at publication and has become a classic of young adult fiction. It has been adapted numerous times for presentation both on stage and on film.
Presented by the Online Stage. Narration by Lee Ann Howlett. Also featuring the voices of Amanda Friday, PJ Morgan, Tiffany Halla Colonna, Becca Maggie, Elizabeth Klett, Andy Harrington, Ron Altman, Ben Lindsey-Clark, Glenn Hascall, Nancy German, Maureen Boutilier, Jeff Moon, Jennifer Fournier, Miranda Hodges, Izzy Lindsey-Clark, Rebecca Thomas, Brett Downey, Sarah Hulslander, Chris Marcellus, Leanne Yau, Cate Barratt, Libby Stephenson, Marty Krz, and David Prickett. Audio edited by Elizabeth Klett and Michele Eaton.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is the most marvellous recording of a famous classic work. I can't praise it highly enough it is just so good. I read the book at school over 50 years ago and it left a lasting impression on me. This recording is a joy to listen to. Having so many actors reading each part is just beyond wonderful as it brings the story to life in a way that would never be possible with one narrator. I am so glad I was able to listen to it and bring some childhood memories back to life.
Read full review

- MCR.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2017
  • Publisher: Spoken Realms