Our Island Story: Complete Set of Five Volumes

  • by Henrietta Marshall
  • Narrated by Bobbie Frohman, Laurellee Westaway, David Thorn
  • 15 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A five part series telling The Story of Great Britain from its earliest beginnings to World War I. Our Island Story, originally published in 1905 and later updated, details the history of Britain up to World War I (including some myths and legends associated with British history). Author H. E. Marshall based the book on her answers to her children's questions about the history of their "home island" (Great Britain).
The Complete Set, includes:
Volume 1 - Early History of Great Britain
Volume 2 - Ruling Monarchs from 1066 to 1509 A.D.
Volume 3 - The next 250 years from Henry VIII(1509 A.D.) to George II (d. 1759 A.D.)
Volume 4 - The loss of the American Colonies and the beginning of the industrial revolution
Volume 5 - The French Revolution (1789 A.D.) to the conclusion of World War I (1919 A.D.)
Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall (1867 – 1941) was a British author, most famous for her works of history for children.
For decades, Marshall's books were ubiquitous in schools and home libraries. Much of the popularity of her works stems from her talent for making history read like good storytelling.


What the Critics Say

“I was given H.E. Marshall’s Our Island Story at Christmas 1936 and I’ve still got that copy. It was a direct inspiration for me in my career as a historian.” (Antonia Fraser)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-08-2010
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks