Ptolemy's Gate : Bartimaeus

  • by Jonathan Stroud
  • Narrated by Steven Pacey
  • Series: Bartimaeus
  • 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Three years on from the events in The Golem's Eye, the magicians' rule in London is teetering on a knife-edge, with strikes, riots, and general unrest. The Prime Minister is largely controlled by two advisors, one of whom is 17-year-old Nathaniel. Meanwhile, living under a false identity, Kitty has been researching djinn; she has come to believe that the only way to destroy the magicians is for an alliance of some kind between djinn and ordinary people.Kitty seeks out Bartimaeus and embarks on a terrifying journey into the djinn's chaotic domain, The Other Place, which no human being has ever survived. But even as she does so, Makepeace engineers a dramatic coup d'etat. The outcome is a shattering of the magicians' control as all magical laws are turned upside down. Can Bartimaeus, Nathaniel, and Kitty settle old scores if they survive - and prevent the earth's destruction?


What the Critics Say

"Literate, entertaining, and exciting." (School Library Journal)
"The trilogy wraps up with excitement, adventure and an unexpected wallop of heart and soul." (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a brilliant book!

I have absolutely loved listening to this trilogy and the last book has been fabulous. Exciting, clever and most of all really poignant. Steven Pacey reads it beautifully as always and it is overall a wonderful listen. Wish there were more!
Read full review

- shona lidgey

Didn't need to be abridged

Fantastic story, first class narration, utterly brilliant.

Quite why the producer didn't have faith in it and gutted half the content is beyond me. About half of Bartimaeus' jokes are gone.

Steven Pacey is second to none as Bartimaeus and I thoroughly enjoyed this, but sadly because so much is missing, the books are better.
Read full review

- Swanny

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-08-2007
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks