Redwall : Redwall

  • by Brian Jacques
  • Narrated by Brian Jacques, Full Cast
  • Series: Redwall
  • 10 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Redwall was published in 1987 it catapulted author Brian Jacques to international stardom. And small wonder! This enthralling tale is jam-packed with the things we long for in a great adventure: danger, laughter, hairbreadth escapes, tragedy, mystery, a touch of wonder, a truly despicable villain, and a hero we can take to heart.That hero is Matthias, a young mouse who must rise above his fears and failures to save his friends at Redwall Abbey. The villain is Cluny the Scourge, one of the most deliciously despicable rats of all time. The unforgettable cast of supporting characters includes the stalwart badger Constance, an irrepressible hare named Basil Stag Hare, and the elderly wisemouse Brother Methuselah.
But most of all there is Matthias, seeking his true destiny in a journey that will lead through danger and despair to true wisdom.


What the Critics Say

"This epic adventure contains elements of all grand quests, with heroic archetypes that will keep fans of Tolkien and King Arthur tales engaged to the final battle." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Hooked from the start

This was the first Redwall book (by Brian Jacques) that I ever listened to and I love it as much now as I did all those years ago. I'm thrilled that it's on audible as my tape copy died a long time ago from over use. A truly wonderful story that readers of all ages can listen to over and over again.
Read full review

- Clare

A very good story for older kids.

The story was very well performed, a good cast of clear but varied and interesting voices and voice actors. The story seemed very much that of a fantasy war story but aimed at kids, while this is not bad, I was a little suprised having not looked fully into it before purchasing.
It was, however, still a very fun story and as said before, well performed.
Read full review

- Kristian falat-marsh

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-10-2003
  • Publisher: Listening Library