Silver on the Tree : The Dark is Rising

  • by Susan Cooper
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: The Dark is Rising
  • 9 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Dark is rising in its last and greatest bid to control the world. And Will Stanton, last-born of the immortal Old Ones, dedicated to keeping the world free, must join forces with his ageless master Merriman and Bran, the Welsh boy whose destiny ties him to the Light. Drawn in with them are the three Drew children, who are mortal, but have their own vital part in the story. These six fight fear and death in the darkly brooding Welsh hills, in a quest through time and space that touches the most ancient myths of the British Isles and that brings Susan Cooper's masterful sequence of novels, The Dark Is Rising, to a satisfying close.


What the Critics Say

"[Alex Jennings] is a master of dialogue, slipping effortlessly into the cadences of children's voices and characterizing accents from around the British Isles and beyond." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Final part of one of my favourite sequences

Love this but please can't you get 'Over sea, under stone' and 'The dark is rising'?
Read full review

- Dorothy

children's fantasy and magic

The fifth and final ageless classic of "The Dark is Rising' series by Susan Cooper. It is rather surprising that her work is not as widely known as the Harry Potter books.She establishes a great sense of atmosphere in her books which draw heavily on Arthurian legends. Alex Jennings brings her work to life incredibly well.
Read full review

- Jayra

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-10-2003
  • Publisher: Listening Library