Swallowdale : Swallows and Amazons

  • by Arthur Ransome
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong
  • Series: Swallows and Amazons
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For anyone who loves sailing and adventure, Arthur Ransome's classic Swallows and Amazons series stands alone. Originally published over a half-century ago, the twelve books are still eagerly read by children and adults alike – by all those captivated by the world of adventure and imagination. Such longevity is not only due to Ransome’s unparalleled gift of storytelling, but also his championing of qualities such as independence and initiative; virtues that appeal to every generation, whether young or old. Swallowdale (originally published in 1931) is the second title in Arthur Ransome's classic series. It follows the Walker family and friends through a shipwreck, a camp on the mainland, a secret valley and cave, and a thrilling mountain hike.
Arthur Ransome was a prolific writer of children's books. Born in Leeds in 1884, it was his father, a nature-loving history professor, who inspired his love of the outdoors and nurtured a passion for fishing. As a child he enjoyed active, outdoor holidays: sailing, camping and exploring the countryside. He used many of these holiday settings for his children's stories, notably the much-loved Swallows and Amazons, a book that sits comfortably in the category of ‘timeless classic’. In 1936 he won the first ever Carnegie Medal for the sixth book in the Swallows & Amazons series, Pigeon Post.


What the Critics Say

"Quite an achievement" (The Guardian)
"There is plenty of excitement, a little danger, a quality of thinking, planning and fun which is delightful and stimulating" (Times Literary Supplement)
"Swallowdale is a real book . . . Even better than Swallows and Amazons" (Time and Tide)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Best book ever

Great read

Definitely a five star rate for everything
I loved every single second and every chapter got better and better
Read full review

- Mrs

Better than Swallows and Amazons!

A book of its time, and none the worse for that. A more realistic series than The Famous Five set in the time when children were encouraged to self reliant and capable. My parents read these to me half a century ago and I to my daughter twenty odd years ago., but they are still as good today. Set in the Lake District and featuring the Walker and Blackett children. The four Walkers manage to sink their dinghy so have to holiday ashore. Adventure s covering catching trout, climbing fells, getting lost in the fog and of course battles with the Blacketts ensue.

A great read for children around ten to twelve, but play it on a long journey so you can listen too! Still a page turner but also charmingly nostalgic for us old timers
Read full review

- English Country Life

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-06-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios