The Cry of the Icemark

  • by Stuart Hill
  • Narrated by Sian Thomas
  • 14 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When her father dies in battle, 14-year-old Thirrin becomes Queen of the Icemark. Not only must she win the respect of her people, but she has to raise an army to protect them from the most formidable threat of invasion her nation has ever known.


What the Critics Say

"A sprawling military fantasy that benefits from a likable heroine and will appeal most to readers who enjoy getting swept up in a good, lengthy yarn." (Publishers Weekly)
"With plenty of strange creatures, growing relationships, well done battle scenes and set pieces both terrifying and triumphant, this above average epic has something to please high fantasy fans of every stripe." (Kirkus Reviews)
"Stuart Hill's debut novel is a thrilling fantasy epic that will be readily devoured by fans of the genre." (Alan Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A book that lasts through the years!

I first discovered this as a teenager and myself and my siblings kept passing it around-"who has it?". There are three of us and yet this went on for years!

Having discovered it as an audio book I immediately bought it and the sequel-brilliant. Amazing narration and the characters, cultures and politics are brilliant.

At 24 I still love listening to it and will continue to do so for at least another decade (or two!)...
Read full review

- Stephanie


This book is aimed at children but I find that it works for any age. The characters Hill creates are believable and interact well together. However for me the world created is brilliant, the civilisations aare based on those from our world eg the Romans (Polypontions) or the Amazons (Hypolitan). There is a good amount of humour whille still retaining the serious plotline.

Downloaded it on Sunday and listened to it 5 times by the end of the week. Amazing story, can't wait to get the next one
Read full review

- Eleanor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-09-2007
  • Publisher: Audible Studios