The Dark Is Rising Sequence, Book One : The Dark is Rising

  • by Susan Cooper
  • Narrated by Alex Jennings
  • Series: The Dark is Rising
  • 7 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that: it is the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.


What the Critics Say

"Jennings' ability is outstanding as he slips in and out of the numerous voices with the rapid dialogue as it approaches the climax....This is an outstanding reading of a classic tale that all young listeners and adults will thoroughly enjoy." (School Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Classic fantasy novels for children and adults.

What made the experience of listening to The Dark Is Rising Sequence, Book One the most enjoyable?

This is the audiobook version of a novel I read and reread as a child. It was lovely to be able to revisit it as an adult and find that it was just as good as I remembered!

Any additional comments?

The narration was clear and unintrusive, the story still a cracking good yarn of Arthurian fantasy brought to modern day Cornwall. My only criticism is that the second book in the series doesn't seem to be available on audible, even though the later ones in the series are!

Read full review

- Katheryn

The only thing wrong

with this audible book is the very beginning and the end. 'Audible Kids' is horrible.
Read full review

- Mrs.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-08-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library