The Emerald Atlas : The Books of Beginning

  • by John Stephens
  • Narrated by Jim Dale
  • Series: The Books of Beginning
  • 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The first thrilling book in the most exciting children's fantasy series since Harry Potter.
They were taken from their beds one frozen night, when the world was covered in snow. The silhouette of a tall, thin man has haunted Kate ever since. Ten years on, Kate, Michael, and Emma have grown up in a string of miserable orphanages, and all memories of their parents have faded to a blur. Arriving at Cambridge Falls, the children quickly realise there is something different about this place – and Kate feels sure she has seen the dark, crooked house before.
As they explore, they discover an old, empty leather book. The moment they touch it, an ancient magical prophecy is set irrevocably in motion, and the children are thrown into a dangerous alternate reality of dark enchantments and terrifying monsters. Only they can prevent the terrible event that will ruin Cambridge Falls - and stop the world from falling into complete devastation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very enjoyable

This is a nice easy listen, good story line and I enjoyed it a great deal.... However UK CITIZENS this is the only volume available in the uk on any on line audiobooks site.. So be aware you will have to read the next volumes.
Read full review

- Joanne

Great narration

This is the first of three great books. All brilliantly narrated by Jim Dale. The tone reminds me of Harry Potter / narnia/ lord of the rings. I am a 53 year old lover of this genre.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-05-2011
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks