The Once and Future King : Once and Future King

  • by T. H. White
  • Narrated by Neville Jason
  • Series: Once and Future King
  • 33 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The complete "box set" of T. H. White's epic fantasy novel of the Arthurian legend. The novel is made up of five parts: "The Sword in the Stone", "The Witch in the Wood", "The Ill-Made Knight", "The Candle in the Wind", and "The Book of Merlyn".
Merlyn instructs the Wart (Arthur) and his brother, Sir Kay, in the ways of the world. One of them will need it: the king has died, leaving no heir, and a rightful one must be found by pulling a sword from an anvil resting on a stone. In the second and third parts of the novel, Arthur has become king and the kingdom is threatened from the north. In the final two books, the ageing king faces his greatest challenge, when his own son threatens to overthrow him. In "The Book of Merlyn", Arthur's tutor Merlyn reappears and teaches him that, even in the face of apparent ruin, there is hope.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


What the Critics Say

AudioFile Earphones Award, 2009
"For those who have never read these five books, prepare to be surprised by their adultness, their laugh-out-loud humor and tongue-in-cheek commentary on modern life; for those who know them well, prepare to be delighted with Neville Jason's transcendent reading. The lovely timbre of his narrative voice, his rhythmic, easy pacing and host of individual characterizations transport listeners into White's weird and wonderful otherworld as quickly as Alice slipped through the looking glass. This long production is so entrancing that one wishes it would never end." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Though I liked all the books, the first was my favourite. Captivated from the first words and the narration is excellent; as good as Stephen Fry in the Potter books. Neville Jason manages all the parts beautifully and with enthusiasm. Well worth the money.
Read full review

- W. Reid

An old favourite made even more enjoyable

One of my favourite books from childhood. When you listen again as an adult you appreciate fully the
wit and wisdom of the author. Neville Jason's narration is delightful, capturing the many characters perfectly.
Read full review

- J

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2011
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks