The Spellcoats : The Dalemark Quartet

  • by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Narrated by Ursula Jones
  • Series: The Dalemark Quartet
  • 7 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The third book in the epic fantasy-adventure series from 'the Godmother of Fantasy', Diana Wynne Jones. Now back in print!
'I had not seen how they hated us till I heard them shout. It was terrible.'
Tanaqui and her family have always known they were somehow different from the other villagers. But when the great floods come and they are driven from their home, they begin to realise the part they must play in the destiny of the land.
As Tanaqui weaves the story of their frightening journey to the sea and the terrifying, powerful evil of the mage Kankredin, she realises the desperate need to understand the meaning of it all. Can she fit the pieces of the puzzle together in time to halt Kankredin's destruction?


What the Critics Say

Praise for Diana Wynne Jones:
"...Her hallmarks include laugh-aloud humour, plenty of magic and imaginative array of alternate worlds. Yet, at the same time, a great seriousness is present in all of her novels, a sense of urgency that links Jones's most outrageous plots to her readers' hopes and fears...." (Publishers Weekly)
"The best writer of magic there is." (Neil Gaiman)
"Truly magical - guaranteed to leave you gasping - even hotter than Potter." (The Bookseller)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Reading

This is the odd one out of the Dalemark quartet, much more mysterious and mystical than the other three. It is beautifully performed by Ursula Jones. I loved it as much as when I first read it as a young teenager.
Read full review

- Cait

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-01-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited