White Crow

  • by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Narrated by Teresa Gallagher
  • 4 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's summer. Rebecca is an unwilling visitor to Winterfold - taken from the buzz of London and her friends and what she thinks is the start of a promising romance.
Ferelith already lives in Winterfold - it's a place that doesn't like to let you go, and she knows it inside out - the beach, the crumbling cliff paths, the village streets, the woods, the deserted churches and ruined graveyards, year by year being swallowed by the sea. Against her better judgement, Rebecca and Ferelith become friends, and during that long, hot, claustrophobic summer they discover more about each other and about Winterfold than either of them really want to, uncovering frightening secrets that would be best left long forgotten.
Interwoven with Rebecca and Ferelith's stories is that of the seventeenth century Rector and Dr Barrieux, master of Winterfold Hall, whose bizarre and bloody experiments into the after-life might make angels weep, and the devil crow.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Creepy and enjoyable

If you could sum up White Crow in three words, what would they be?

Creepy gothic drama

What was one of the most memorable moments of White Crow?

All of it is vivid and full of atmosphere! Couldnt mention particular scenes without giving things away. (In fact I dont know why Audible asks this question. People reading reviews usually haven't read the book yet so it would be spoilers!

What about Teresa Gallagher’s performance did you like?

Everything. Excellent narrator who put great personality into the characters, good voices, and dramatic emphasis at exactly the right points. Perfect for this book.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not especially moved - more enthralled!

Any additional comments?

Just heartily recommended, for all ages over about 15, I'd say. I am 60 and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Read full review

- Metaltoe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-07-2010
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited