Classic American Dramas Starring Laurence Olivier, Volume 2

  • by Theatre Royal, Bret Harte
  • Narrated by Laurence Olivier
  • 0 hrs and 54 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Fully restored and remastered, Heritage Media presents the greatest of vintage artists in classic dramas of the early America’s. Here is the legendary Laurence Olivier starring in ‘The Luck of Roaring Camp’, adapted from the original tale by Bret Harte and ‘The Outcasts of Poker Flat’ also adapted by Bret Harte.
Theatre Royal is a unique series of classic radio dramas produced in the 1950's by the late Harry Alan Towers. Starring the leading theatre artists of the day it is the only series of radio dramas in which Laurence Olivier ever appeared. He was joined by Ralph Richardson, John Gielgud, Orson Welles, Robert Morley, John Mills, Michael Redgrave, Trevor Howard, Robert Donut, Alec Guinness and Margaret Lockwood.
Over the Years, Theatre Royal has received a glittering array of accolades, including: “vivid, tense, and compressed.”( Classic radio)
“Craft, like character, ages well.”(Daily Telegraph)
“Great fun to listen to and, as radio history, they are unsurpassed.” (Sunday Telegraph)
“Voices like these justify the Golden Days tag. We won't hear their like again.” (Sunday Times)
“A must for archive fans. The excitement of vintage radio drama with strong storylines.” (Radio Times.)


Audible Editor Reviews

The Theatre Royal presents Classic American Dramas Starring Laurence Olivier is a delightful restoration of a historical treasure. Laurence Olivier stars in two separate radio dramas, each adapted for the radio waves by Bret Harte. Known for his legendary Shakespeare performances, Olivier’s timeless and stately voice elevates these golden-age radio plays into performances to be cherished by both Olivier fans and casual listeners alike. Performances such as this only serve to affirm Olivier’s revered reputation as one of the greatest voice actors of all time.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-04-2011
  • Publisher: Heritage Media Ltd