Classic English and Irish Dramas Starring Laurence Olivier and John Gielgud, Volume 4

  • by Theatre Royal, Graham Greene, Max Beerbohm
  • Narrated by Laurence Olivier, John Gielgud
  • 0 hrs and 55 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Fully restored and remastered, Heritage Media presents the greatest of vintage artists in classic dramas from English and Irish Literature. Here is the legendary Laurence Olivier starring in ‘When Greek Meets Greek’, adapted from the original tale by Graham Greene and John Gielgud starring in 'The Happy Hypocrite' adapted from the original tale by Max Beerbohm.
Theatre Royal is a unique series of classic radio dramas produced in the 1950s by the late Harry Alan Towers. Starring the leading theatre artists of the day it is the only series of radio dramas in which Laurence Olivier ever appeared. He was joined by Ralph Richardson, John Gielgud, Orson Welles, Robert Morley, John Mills, Michael Redgrave, Trevor Howard, Robert Donut, Alec Guinness and Margaret Lockwood.
Over the Years, Theatre Royal has received a glittering array of accolades, including: “vivid, tense, and compressed.”( Classic radio)
“Craft, like character, ages well.”(Daily Telegraph)
“Great fun to listen to and, as radio history, they are unsurpassed.” (Sunday Telegraph)
“Voices like these justify the Golden Days tag. We won't hear their like again.” (Sunday Times)
“A must for archive fans. The excitement of vintage radio drama with strong storylines.” (Radio Times.)


Audible Editor Reviews

The Theatre Royal series compiles classic radio programs from the 1950s, and this volume showcases work by such luminaries as Oscar Wilde and Graham Greene. The quality of text is matched by the caliber of performer, as legendary actors Laurence Olivier and John Gielgud lend their golden pipes and interpretive talent to give these stories a living, breathing vividness. It is rare for there to be such a perfect marriage between a work and its performers, and this collection is a thrilling example of the golden age of radio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-04-2011
  • Publisher: Heritage Media Ltd