Classic Tales of Horror

  • by Ambrose Bierce, Bram Stoker, Charles Dickens, Henry James, H P Lovecraft, Daniel Defoe, Mary Shelley, W W Jacobs
  • Narrated by Michael Fenton Stevens, Sarah Douglas, Ben Onwukwe, John Waite
  • 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Classic Tales Of Horror offers up fifteen slices of powerful story-telling from the world's great mystery & classic horror authors.
From Henry James and Ambrose Bierce to Bram Stoker and Charles Dickens. The Man & The Snake by Ambrose Bierce, Man-Size In Marble by E Nesbitt, The Moonlit Road by Ambrose Bierce, The Mysterious Mansion by Honore De Balzac, The Judge's House by Bram Stoker, Lost Face by Jack London, by Charles Dickens, The Ghostly Rental by Henry James, The Phantom Coach by Amelia B Edwards, The Picture In The House by HP Lovecraft, True Relation Of The Apparition Of One Mrs Veal by Daniel Defoe, Transformation by Mary Shelley, The Monkey's Paw by WW Jacobs, William Wilson by Edgar Allan Poe, Canon Alberic's Scrapbook by M.R. James.
Read by John Waite (BBC Radio 4), Sarah Douglas (Superman I & II), Michael Fenton-Stevens (Spitting Image, KYTV, Hitchhiker's Guide) and Ben Onwukwe (London's Burning, Othello).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Old favourites and a few new classics I hadn't heard

Most of the performances in this collection of horror short stories were very good. a little overdone sometimes though. The naration did bring the full horror to life. The worst story in the collection was by Daniel defoe. Beyond that there are some old favourites and some less well known especially to those not entirely familiar with the ghost genre. Iverall, a well put together collection in my opinion.
Read full review

- Rose "I write short stories and love reading. I can't stand poor grammar though. I like most types of books but I don't like erotica or romance."

good narrators but intrusive announcer

classic stories combined with quality readers what's not to like?

answer an annoying announcer between the stories, whiny voice repetitive message and load music which ruins this as stories to fall asleep to.
Read full review

- Jason M Eshelby

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-12-2013
  • Publisher: Spokenworld Audio/Ladbroke Audio Ltd