Framley Parsonage : Chronicles of Barsetshire

  • by Anthony Trollope
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Chronicles of Barsetshire
  • 18 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mark Robarts, a young vicar, is newly arrived in the village of Framley. With ambitions to further his career, he seeks connections in the county's high society. He is soon preyed upon by a local member of parliament to guarantee a substantial loan, which Mark, in a moment of weakness, agrees to, even though he knows the man is a notorious debtor; it brings Mark to the brink of ruin. Meanwhile, Mark's sister, Lucy, is deeply in love with Lord Lufton, the son of the lofty Lady Lufton. Lord Lufton has proposed, but Lady Lufton is against the marriage, preferring that her son choose the coldly beautiful Griselda Grantly. The novel concludes with four happy marriages, including one involving Doctor Thorne, the hero of the preceding book in the Chronicles of Barsetshire series.


What the Critics Say

"One of the great English Victorian novelists....A sharp but sympathetic observer of Victorian social and political life." (Daniel S. Burt, The Biography Book)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dreadful characterisations of Trollope's people

Throughout the series Simon Vance has taken all his characterisations from 1950's British films. Here he also gives one minor character a Scottish accent in an early chapter, to speak a dialect no Scot ever spoke. By the end she has a more realistic Mummerset instead. Mark Robards is too old, and Mrs Crawley, a gentlewoman living a hard and poverty-stricken life, is given a working class accent thus distorting her completely. Oh dear.
Read full review

- Philadelphus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-04-2007
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.