Framley Parsonage : Chronicles of Barsetshire

  • by Anthony Trollope
  • Narrated by David Shaw-Parker
  • Series: Chronicles of Barsetshire
  • 21 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Framley Parsonage, the fourth novel of Trollope's Chronicles of Barsetshire, the author leaves the confines of Barchester and looks to the countryside, where he relates the moral difficulties of Mark Robarts, the young clergyman who has recently been appointed Vicar of Framley. Desperate to keep up with the local aristocracy, the country parson is persuaded to underwrite the debts of Sowerby, a well-respected peer. However, when the debts are called in, Robarts finds himself in a serious predicament.
Written with acute insight, together with a great deal of warmth and humour toward his characters' attendant charms and foibles, Framley Parsonage is sure to delight.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. It was beautifully written and read well. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Mr Trollope, how could one not love you!

Anthony Trollope doesn't know how to disappoint. My only feelings of dread are palpable when I imagine the Barsetshire Chronicles coming to an end. How am I going to survive? Read more Trollope of course, while realising that other books penned by him are different in flavour. The couple of books that I've read from a different series are excellent too, but they could as easily be written by someone else. This only goes to show what a versatile author he is. I do wish that there were endless numbers of these books ahead of me. Mrs Gaskell did say that she wished he would write Framley Parsonage forever! I understand now ...
Read full review

- Cara

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-12-2014
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks