Gulliver's Travels

  • by Jonathan Swift
  • Narrated by Jasper Britton
  • 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lemuel Gulliver, a slightly staid ship’s doctor, relates the tales of his astonishing travels. He encounters the tiny, warring Lilliputians; the giant, sceptical Brobdingnagians; the ludicrously intellectual Laputans; and the idealistic – if rather stolid – Houyhnhnms and their bestial servants, the Yahoos. An immediate best-seller when it was first published in 1726, Gulliver’s Travels has remained a favourite ever since. It was an attack on the politics and society of Swift’s day, but it is also a polemical, inventive, surreal, vitriolic and wonderfully imaginative masterpiece, whose powerful satire continues to strike home.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not as good as I thought it would be

Where does Gulliver's Travels rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

For many years I have always wanted to read this book. However having now listened to it I can say I found it actually rather boring in a lot of places and found myself not really listening to it all. Well performed but the story was just not engaging.

Would you recommend Gulliver's Travels to your friends? Why or why not?

It was a rather tedious book

Read full review

- nigel tuck


Jasper Britton narrates this wonderfully and I was particularly amused by his creative impersonation of the Houyhnhms. Superficially, the narrative is entertaining (and even of interest to children) but the fantastical masks a complex text that engages numerous political and philosophical themes of concern to the 16th century and to the Enlightenment in particular. Gulliver's Travels can be both frivolous entertainment and the subject of much deeper inquiry and as such is an intellectual investment.
Read full review

- ne5566

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-09-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks