• by Rudyard Kipling
  • Narrated by Madhav Sharma
  • 13 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set in the days of the British Raj, Kipling's finest novel is the exciting and touching tale of an Irish orphan-boy who has lived free in the streets of Lahore before setting out, with a Tibetan Lama, on a spiritual quest. Kim later enrolls in the Indian Service and simultaneously embarks on an espionage mission of supreme importance. A thrilling climax in the Himalayas occurs when the two quests become entangled. Kim's search for identity is staged within one of the most magnificent and affectionate portrayals of Indian culture in literature.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Did not enjoy it

I don't like writing a bad review but I just did not enjoy this book at all. I could not connect with the Narrator in any way. Coming from an Indian background, I just could not see how Indians could talk the way his characters were. After about 3-4 hours I gave up. The first Audiobook that I stopped mid way (I have over 40 books). Would not recommend this book.
Read full review

- Mukesh

The Indian grail quest.

If you could sum up Kim in three words, what would they be?

Mischievous, curious,intelligent

What was one of the most memorable moments of Kim?

In the mountains, when he rejects the woman's advances and also his Western root.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

On the train when Kim disguises the agent on the run and fools the railway police, and his fellow passengers

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The finale where the lama gives up his own enlightenment in order to return and help Kim to find his.

Any additional comments?

The reading added a dimension of gentle understanding which moved and awed me. Truly a one man theatre.

Read full review

- R. Wentworth-poignie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-10-2009
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks