Les Misérables: The Radio Broadcast was a seven-part radio series broadcast July 23 - September 3, 1937, on the Mutual Network. Orson Welles adapted Victor Hugo's novel, directed the series, and starred as Jean Valjean.
The 22-year-old Welles developed the idea of telling stories with first-person narration on the series, which was his first job as a writer-director for radio. Les Misérables was one of Welles's earliest and finest achievements on radio, and marked the radio debut of the Mercury Theatre. The production costarred Martin Gabel as Javert, Alice Frost as Fantine, and Virginia Nicholson, Welles's first wife, as the adult Cosette. The supporting cast included Ray Collins, Agnes Moorehead, Everett Sloane, Betty Garde, Hiram Sherman, Frank Readick, Richard Widmark, Richard Wilson, and William Alland.

Les Misérables: Behind the Scenes
Chapter 1: "The Bishop"
Chapter 2: "Javert"
Chapter 3: "The Trial"
Chapter 4: "Cosette"
Chapter 5: "The Grave"
Chapter 6: "The Barricade"
Chapter 7: "Finale"
This classic masterpiece, as presented by Orson Welles and the Mercury Theater, is a must have for any collector of Victor Hugo, Orson Welles, and Old Time Radio Broadcasts.
Digitally remastered by PDQ AudioWorks
©2012 PDQ Books (P)2012 PDQ Audioworks
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Even in this pre-'War of the Worlds' serialization, [narrator Orson Welles'] genius for the spoken word and showmanship have the power to engage - no, excite!" (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available