Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime and Other Stories

  • by Oscar Wilde
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas, David Timson, Anthony Donovan
  • 4 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A palmist’s prediction leads to murder; an enigmatic woman’s lifestyle is a mystery to be solved; a ghost tries to frighten the new tenants of his home; a man has discovered the dedicatee of Shakespeare’s Sonnets; a millionaire wants to be painted as a pauper. Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime and Other Stories is a collection of fascinating short stories that are subversive as well as entertaining. Also included in this audiobook is 'The Birthday of the Infanta from A House of Pomegranates', in which an ugly dwarf loves a beautiful princess. How will his feelings fare in a cruel society?
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

A well-narrated collection features five pieces of short fiction originally published in 1891. The anthology includes Wilde's best-known story, "The Canterville Ghost," a satiric and ultimately touching account of a brash American family frustrating a British ghost, and the enigmatic "Portrait of Mr. W. H.," in which research into the identity of the dedicatee of Shakespeare's sonnets leads to monomania and suicide. All the selections drip with irony, paradox, and iconoclasm while showing off the author's celebrated cleverness and wit. All three narrators well understand and communicate these qualities. In addition, they mercifully tone down the instances of excessive sentiment that could otherwise tumble them into bathos.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-11-2010
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks