Louise de La Vallière : D'Artagnan

  • by Alexandre Dumas
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: D'Artagnan
  • 23 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As part of the d'Artagnan Romances following The Three Musketeers and Twenty Years After, and devoted in large part to romantic events at the court of France's King Louis XIV, Louise de La Valliere is the second part of Alexandre Dumas's 268 chapter novel The Vicomte de Bragelonne: Ten Years Later, which first appeared in serial form between 1847 and 1850. Filled with behind-the-scenes intrigue, the novel brings the aging Musketeers and d'Artagnan out of retirement to face an impending crisis within the royal court of France.


What the Critics Say

"One of the very best of the series, mixing amorous and political intrigue with an élan peculiar to Dumas...this quasi-historical series remains remarkably readable" (The Irish Times, Dublin)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Only the Best

I have read all that books in the series and now go on to The Man in the Iron Mask to complete the story. I have enjoyed every minute of all . Simon Vance tells the story really well and have marked his performance higher than story and overall to stress my point. Again I have had a really good read/listen, just plain the Best of Entertainment.
Read full review

- Colin

The weakest of the series

A bit too much 'woe is me I'm in love' and not enough swashbuckling in this one!
Read full review

- Christine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-07-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.