Madame de Treymes and Two Novellas

  • by Edith Wharton
  • Narrated by Anna Fields
  • 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Madame de Treymes follows the fortunes of two innocents abroad: Fanny Frisbee of New York, unhappily married to the dissolute Marquis de Malrive, scion of a great house of the Faubourg St. Germain, and John Durham, her childhood friend, who arrives in Paris intent on persuading Fanny to divorce her husband and marry him instead. A scintillating picture of American and French culture at the turn of the century and a subtle investigation of the role of women in the prevailing social hierarchy, Madame de Treymes confirmed Edith Wharton's position, as Edmund Wilson wrote, as "an historian of the American society of her time". This edition also includes the novellas Sanctuary (1903) and Bunner Sisters (1906).


What the Critics Say

"Listeners are treated to characters they can relate to amid themes of love, loyalty, and loss." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a great performance and the usual intriguing

stories from Edith Wharton but the playback keeps sticking up landing you in messy random crash landings. and no titles or book marks where other novellas start?! so my issues are firmly on producers and technicals.
Read full review

- Mrs Ford

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-08-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.