• by J. Meade Falkner
  • Narrated by Peter Joyce
  • 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A tale of smuggling and mystery on the Dorset coast as told by John Trenchard, a boy obsessed with discovering the secret of Colonel 'Blackbeard' Mohune's hidden treasure. One night, trapped in the Mohune family vault beneath the church, John finds a locket round the Colonel's neck which contains verses from the Psalms of David. What could it mean? Elzevir Block, landlord of the local public house, who has lost his son in the contraband wars, befriends John and together they struggle to find the secret of Blackbeard's buried wealth. It is an adventure story full of action and misfortune spanning many years, two different countries and ending with a message to us all.
About Assembled Stories: Over the years the national press have reviewed Assembled Stories titles as "excellent", "remarkable", "entrancing", "superb", "magic for sure", "masterly", "wonderful", "a class act" and "a splendid example of audio at its best".


What the Critics Say

"Peter Joyce is the most remarkable one-man band in audiobook publishing. Joyce, an experienced actor, reads them all himself." (The Independent)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's a classic

This is a well put-together story with a cast of engaging characters and scenes that made me smile and groan. There were plenty of ups and downs to keep me interested. I suppose that it's a sort of action adventure but the friendship of the main characters was what I felt drove the story.

I have to thank Chris de Burgh as I got this downlaod as a result of listening to his 'Moonfleet and other stories' and I'm really pleased that I did.
Read full review

- Chris


I loved it and would recommend it to anyone, particularly those interested in history and having knowledge of the sea. It was packed with action, reflection snd morality in the best sense of the word
Read full review

- celia stephenson-bird

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-11-2010
  • Publisher: Assembled Stories