Oh! To Be in England : Pop Larkin

  • by H. E. Bates
  • Narrated by Philip Franks
  • Series: Pop Larkin
  • 4 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the third sequel to The Darling Buds of May, Charley and Mariette decide to get baby Blenheim christened, leading to a wholesale christening of all seven of the Larkin children. Chaos abounds as the vicar, Mr Candy, is run ragged by the naughty twins, Zinnia and Petunia, and finds himself the object of desire for Pop's second eldest, Primrose. To top it all off, Pop buys a fairground on a whim, and Mlle Dupont arrives to discover that Pop is not a Lord, nor does he live in a mansion. The result is a celebratory ending and a wonderful tribute to Pop's beloved countryside, with its 'nightingales and blackbirds, bluebells and primroses, haytime and high summer'. Perfick!
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Simply perfick!

A classic....brilliantly read by Philip Franks.
Re-live those fantastic Summer moments of sheer bliss with Ma and Pa Larkin.
Read full review

- M. A. Gillyon

Oh! To be in England

Yet another trip through `nostalgia land` like a warm blanket wrapped around me. I shall soon be going on to book five, the last instalment. Really am enjoying these books and have been reliably informed by the thirteen year old that we have the DVD complete series somewhere in the back of the cupboard! May have to wait until Christmas to put my feet up!!! Thoroughly recommend this audio book as a pleasant interlude to tougher listens.
Read full review

- H W Giddens

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-10-2016
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks