Selections from Greek Lives

  • by Plutarch
  • Narrated by Nicholas Farrell
  • 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Plutarch’s series of biographies was the first of its kind, as much ground breaking in conception as Herodotus was with his Histories. Plutarch looked at the great men of the Ancient World and told their stories, in many cases drawing on sources no longer available to us. They offer a unique insight into the characters as well as the achievements of men who influenced their age and the empires that their culture dominated. They are as accessible now as they were when they were first written. It is the companion volume to Roman Lives, also read with style by Nicholas Farrell on Naxos AudioBooks.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

Nicholas Farrell reads with grace and gravitas this ancient account of Greek figures. Plutarch, a Greek writer of the first and early second centuries C.E., authored Parallel Lives of Greek and Romans, containing 46 biographical portraits of significant Greeks and Romans. This audiobook presents lives of eight prominent Greeks (Lycurgus, Themistocles, Pericles, Alcibiades, Lysander, Alexander, Demosthenes, and Pyrrhus) in chronological order. The text is formal as it is an 1864 revision of an English translation from the 1780s, but Farrell handles it well, never faltering on rarely used words and unfamiliar syntax.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-08-2011
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks