• by Charlotte Brontë
  • Narrated by Georgina Sutton
  • 23 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following the tremendous success of Jane Eyre Charlotte Brontë returned to pen a novel every bit as romantic and compelling as her first, but with deeper, heartier themes as she captured the social and political currents of the newly industrialized United Kingdom of 1812. Set in a chaotic time in England, during the height of the Napoleonic Wars, Caroline Helstone's world is turned upside down when she meets the vivacious Shirley Keeldar. Shirley becomes a beacon of light for Caroline as the two become close friends. However, Caroline is soon shocked to discover that Shirley has won the affections of Robert Moore, the impoverished mill owner whom she loves. Fully representative of Yorkshire life at the time, Brontë's second novel is completely gripping, unrelenting and utterly wrenching in its portrayal.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very much enjoyed

Great book. A little long winded at times but still worth a listen. Excellent narration.
Read full review

- Hallesaspberry


I started this book about a year ago and gave up. Determined not to leave it unread I picked it up and persevered to the bitter end. It really was the most badly written and boring book l have ever read. It could have been told in a sixth of the time. It was self indulgent, whole chapters given over to sermons and introspective thoughts of characters. Honestly, Charlotte Bronte only wrote one book. My criticism has nothing to do with the age in which it was written, in fact the behaviour of the heroine was seen as shocking at the time. Bronte was a friend of Mrs Gaskell who is a hundred times the better writer. Be warned don’t waste your time and money on this book.
Read full review

- Susan Whitehead

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-07-2014
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks