The Forsyte Saga - Volume 1

  • by John Galsworthy
  • Narrated by Martin Jarvis
  • 5 hrs and 14 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Soames Forsyte's great desire to own things even extends to his captivating wife, Irene. Jealous of her friendships with others, he concocts a plan to move her away to the countryside, where he might come to own her completely. Resisting his bitter intentions, she falls for architect Philip Bossiney, who is unfortunately engaged to her best friend (and Soames' cousin), June Forsyte. A gripping drama, CSA Word's 'The Man of Property', the first book of 'The Forsyte Saga', is an absorbing audio production that faithfully and movingly serves Galsworthy's masterful prose. Also includes the much-acclaimed 'Indian Summer of a Forsyte'.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a highly recommended listen

This beautifully read edition can transform a tedious long car journey into a delight but equally can be saved up to be listened to in small chunks. Martin Jarvis (who played the young Jon Forsyte in the highly acclaimed 1967 screened version of the novel) is a narrator who can make a story sparkle; his voice never irritates. He introduces the listener to three generations of the Forsyte family. We are party to their thoughts, deeds and conversations as they struggle to cope with the effect which their particular family history has on all their lives.
Read full review

- Julia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-07-2009
  • Publisher: CSA Word