The Forsyte Saga, Volume 5 : The Forsyte Saga (Assembled Stories)

  • by John Galsworthy
  • Narrated by Peter Joyce
  • Series: The Forsyte Saga (Assembled Stories)
  • 4 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Forsyte feud continues into the next generation with Jolly and Val involved in a drunken bout of fisticuffs.
Soames continues to pursue Irene driving her to seek refuge in Paris. Believing that she has a lover, he puts her under surveillance to obtain evidence. Jolyon travels to Paris on the pretext of discussing business and he and Irene spend some time together unaware their movements are being watched.... The love affair of Holly and Val continues to flourish despite Jolly daring the young Dartie to enlist and join him in the fight against the Boers.
Soames has a plan which will enable Winifred to divorce and be rid of the adulterous Monty if only the erring husband stays away- but will he?
Jolyon returns from France to bid farewell to his son and is greeted by another death at Robin Hill.
About Assembled Stories: Over the years the national press have reviewed Assembled Stories titles as "excellent", "remarkable", "entrancing", "superb", "magic for sure", "masterly", "wonderful", "a class act" and "a splendid example of audio at its best".


What the Critics Say

"Peter Joyce is the most remarkable one-man band in audiobook publishing. Joyce, an experienced actor, reads them all himself." ( The Independent)
“Family sagas, from Icelandic to Aga, have diverted readers for centuries, but the Forsytes remain the brand leaders. The clever thing about this edition is that it comes in small, easily digestible portions. Peter Joyce, whose rhetorical resonance is perfect for his subject, has divided the saga into nine volumes, each lasting around five hours. Listen for yourselves. It was the dialogue that had me constantly rewinding…. their lives are eminently and endlessly fascinating.” ( Sue Arnold, The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-11-2010
  • Publisher: Assembled Stories