The Iliad

  • by Homer, Ian Johnston (translator)
  • Narrated by Anton Lesser
  • 16 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perhaps the greatest poem of the Western world, The Iliad tells the story of 50 critical days towards the end of the Trojan war. Achilles has quarrelled with Agamemnon and sulks in his tent, while Hector brings his Trojans to the brink of victory; but fate will have the last word.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

the best of the lot

i had tried to listen to other versions of this, many being too mono tone and boring and it had put me off till i started this one and it was brought more to life. it is well read and draws you in to an epic story that at times you just want to keep listening.
Read full review

- MR


What made the experience of listening to The Iliad the most enjoyable?

I've read several versions of the Iliad, but I really enjoyed this audiobook version. Anton Lesser's performance in particular really brings the book to life, which made it all the more enjoyable.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Hector would be my favourite character as the Greek heroes tend to be pillocks!

Have you listened to any of Anton Lesser’s other performances? How does this one compare?

I've not had any other books read by Anton Lesser, but I intend to as I was very impressed with his performance.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The most moving moment for me would have to be Priam's supplication of Achilles. After his son Hector is killed and dragged back to the Achaean ships to be fed to dogs, Priam goes to his son's killer to beg for his body. The dignity of Priam is brought into sharp relief in this scene as he sits at Achilles' feet and begs for his son's body.

Any additional comments?

Anyone who thinks this is anything like that dreadful film with Brad Pitt is mistaken. The Iliad is a wonderful story that was unfortunately butchered in the film Troy.

Read full review

- David S

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-07-2006
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks