The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

  • by Howard Pyle
  • Narrated by David Thorn
  • 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Howard Pyle's exciting and hilarious tales of Robin Hood and his merry band of Outlaws who reigned over Sherwood Forest doing many good deeds for the poor, and deserved misdeeds for the pompous and haughty rich.
Table of Contents
Author's Preface
Chapter 01: How Robin Hood Came to Be an Outlaw
Chapter 02: Robin Hood and the Tinker
Chapter 03: The Shooting Match at Nottingham Town
Chapter 04: Will Stutely Rescued by His Companions
Chapter 05: Robin Hood Turns Butcher
Chapter 06: Little John Goes to Nottingham Fair
Chapter 07: How Little John Lived at the Sheriff's
Chapter 08: Little John and the Tanner of Blyth
Chapter 09: Robin Hood and Will Scarlet
Chapter 10: The Adventure with Midge the Miller's Son
Chapter 11: Robin Hood and Allan a Dale
Chapter 12: Robin Hood Seeks the Curtal Friar
Chapter 13: Robin Hood Compasses a Marriage
Chapter 14: Robin Hood Aids a Sorrowful Knight
Chapter 15: How Sir Richard of the Lea Paid His Debts
Chapter 16: Little John Turns Barefoot Friar
Chapter 17: Robin Hood Turns Beggar
Chapter 18: Robin Hood Shoots Before Queen Eleanor
Chapter 19: The Chase of Robin Hood
Chapter 20: Robin Hood and Guy of Gisbourne
Chapter 21: King Richard Comes to Sherwood Forest
Howard Pyle was born on March 5, 1853 in Wilmington, Delaware. From the time he was a very small boy he loved pictures, especially the pictures in storybooks. Among his favorites were Grimm’s German Fairy Tales and Arabian Nights.
At the age of twenty-one, Pyle began to contribute illustrations and fables to St. Nicholas magazine and later went on to write and illustrate books for children. His first was The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood in 1883. Many more books followed. He also taught illustration at the Drexel Institute in Philadelphia and later set up his own art school in Wilmington. He died on November 9, 1911, in Florence, Italy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2007
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks