The Trial [Naxos AudioBooks]

  • by Franz Kafka, David Whiting (translator)
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas
  • 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Trial is one of the great works of the 20th century - an extraordinary vision of one man put on trial by an anonymous authority on an unspecified charge. Kafka evokes all the terrifying reality of his ordeal.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a dull life brought to insanity

If you could sum up The Trial [Naxos AudioBooks] in three words, what would they be?

a slow, pathological destabilization of a human being. The overall corrupt and inefficient legal process where you could never win seem designed to force people into insanity.

What did you like best about this story?

How Josef K could stay so calm for so long. He seemed to think that he could win and prove his innocence, but all he could see is people under the heel of "system". Made out in so much detail

Have you listened to any of Rupert Degas’s other performances? How does this one compare?


Any additional comments?

Shares some of the characteristics of Jonathan Swift hatred for the legal system and lawyers. Having recently finished a book I really liked the theme. Was also a HUGE fan of 1984 and this felt almost the same. Great book

Read full review

- GenKaan

The Process

Darkly funny at times and deeply depressing at others. Sometimes difficult to follow, especially when Kafka just gives up and doesn't finish a chapter.

The act of being persecuted by an unknown authority is an important and fascinating allegorical tale, however, Kafka's weakness here (or perhaps his ultimate point) is to render the plight of the protagonist pointless, as it was decided from the start, therefore providing a frustrating experience for the reader, when nothing is resolved and then you die.
Read full review

- Jon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-08-2007
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks