The Waste Land & Four Quartets

  • by T.S. Eliot
  • Narrated by Paul Scofield
  • 1 hrs and 35 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

These are masterly readings, by renowned thespian Paul Schofield, of two substantial works of poetry by T.S. Eliot. "The Wasteland", first published in 1922, is one of Eliot's most influential works and has long been on the syllabus for A-Level English Literature.
"Four Quartets" consists of four long poems, first published between 1935 and 1942. They are linked by common themes, and are individually "Burnt Norton", "East Coker", "The Dry Salvages", and "Little Gidding".


What the Critics Say

"Complex, erudite, cryptic, satiric, spiritually earnest, and occasionally lyrical, ["The Waste Land"] became one of the most recognizable landmarks of modernism"....[the "Four Quartets"] were the first of Eliot's poems to reach a wide public and they succeeded in communicating in modern idiom the fundamentals of Christian faith and experiences." ( The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The 20th century

Paul Scofield's reading of these masterworks is wonderful, incomparable - do not even think of buying Eliot's own dull, flat renderings unless you intend to get both versions.

Even as I type this short review, I feel impatient to play through the poems again...
Read full review

- common reader

A must for all literature lovers

Whatever your feelings about poetry, it is an undeniable truth that it has so much more impact when it is heard than when it is read. What a joy therefore to come across this excellent audio-edition of these two complex and meaty poems by T. S. Eliot. The beauty of the audio-recordings lie in the way that you can listen to the poems as a whole again and again and discover more and more about the central truths they offer about life and what it is to be human with each listening. Not a choice for the fainthearted, but if you like literature and poetry, you will not regret buying this! An audiobook that stands an infinite number of re-readings.
Read full review

- Mr

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-04-2007
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited