The Works of Edgar Allan Poe, Volume 2

  • by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Narrated by Bernard Setaro Clark
  • 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of classic works by Edgar Allan Poe, American author, poet, editor, and literary critic. Best known for his tales of mystery and the macabre, Poe was one of the earliest American practitioners of the short story and is considered the inventor of the detective fiction genre. He is further credited with contributing to the emerging genre of science fiction. He was the first well-known American writer to try to earn a living through writing alone, resulting in a financially difficult life and career.
This volume includes "The Purloined Letter", "The Thousand and Second Tale of Scheherazade", "A Descent into the Maelstrom", "Von Kempelen and his Discovery", "Mesmeric Revelation", "The Facts in the Case of Mr. Valdemar", "The Black Cat", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "Silence: A Fable", "The Masque of the Red Death", "The Cask of Amontillado", "The Imp of the Perverse", "The Island of the Fay", "The Assignation", "The Pit and the Pendulum", "The Premature Burial", "The Domain of Arnheim", "Landor's Cottage", and "William Wilson".


Audible Editor Reviews

This volume contains some of Edgar Allan Poe's best works, including "The Cask of Amontillado", "The Fall of the House of Usher", and "The Pit and the Pendulum". Though all the stories contained in this audiobook might not live up to these more famous narratives from the dark Romanticist, altogether the volume stands up to scrutiny from the harshest critics. The vocal performance of Bernard Setaro Clark pushes the narrative through every haunted bedroom and under every eerie floorboard. Because some of Poe's works are reminiscent of police procedurals, a performer must be able to capture the voices of detectives, perps, and accusers, and Clark does so with conviction.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-02-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios