Within a Budding Grove, Part 1

  • by Marcel Proust
  • Narrated by Neville Jason
  • 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Within a Budding Grove, Part 1 is the second volume of Proust's monumental, seven volume, quasi-autobiographical novel Remembrance of Things Past, which has been described as "one of the greatest works of imagination of all time." As the young narrator succumbs to the charms of the enchanting Gilberte, the author presents us with an unparalleled account of the pangs of adolescent love. Proust has created from the raw material of his life a work of art of unsurpassed originality, filled with his own uniquely sensitive and subtle spirit.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

The literary critic Harold Bloom wrote that Marcel Proust’s In Search of Lost Time is "widely recognized as the major novel of the 20th century". It is also one of the least read due to its great, great length. For a listener interested in delving into the universe that is Proust, Within a Budding Grove might be a nice place to start.
Performed by the award-winning voice artist Neville Jason, in an articulate British dialect, Within a Budding Grove is the second installment of In Search of Lost Time, and the first to bring its author widespread acclaim. Here Proust focuses on the narrator’s memories of his adolescence, particularly his fascination with Albertine, a young girl in the fictional seaside town of Balbec, France.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-10-2000
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks