• by Harris Wittels
  • Narrated by Harris Wittels
  • 4 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From comedian and writer (Parks and Recreation, Eastbound & Down) Harris Wittels comes a hysterical breakdown of boasts, brags, and self-adulation disguised as humble comments and complaints - based on his popular @humblebrag Twitter feed.
Something immediately annoyed Harris Wittels about Twitter. All of a sudden it was acceptable to brag, so long as those brags were ever-so-thinly disguised as transparent humility, such as:
"Just filed my taxes. Biggie was right, mo money mo problems."
"I hate when I go into a store to get something to eat and the male staff are too busy hitting on me to get my order right :( so annoying!"
Taking action by naming this phenomenon and creating the Twitter account called Humblebrag - dedicated solely to retweeting the humblebrags of others - Wittels's new word took the Internet by storm. Harris also shows readers what humblebrags might look like from some of history's most notable names, as well as devoting an entire chapter to a man who just might be the greatest humblebraggart of them all...


What the Critics Say

"I haven't read this, and never intend to, but Harris is my friend, so I feel obligated to give him a 'blurb' for his book. He's a funny writer...I'm sure it's not that bad." (Aziz Ansari, comedian, NBC's Parks and Recreation)
"Great, Harris. This is a really good use of your time." (Mindy Kaling, comedian and NYT bestselling author of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?)
"Harris Wittels is a hilarious performer and writer and with this book he has coined a new term for that thing that drives us crazy. But honestly, I don't know how I feel about this whole thing. It makes me nervous." (Amy Poehler)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I persevered with this for just over an hour.
It's bad at the beginning and seems like it gets worse the more you listen.
Read full review

- eddy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-09-2012
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio