A Darkness Descending

  • by Christobel Kent
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • 13 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Niccolo Rosselli, the driven, charismatic leader of a Florentine political movement, collapses at a rally, his young party immediately comes under threat. And when it emerges that his long time partner, Flavia, has disappeared, leaving behind not only a devastated husband but their newborn son, the political becomes dangerously personal - and Sandro Cellini is drafted in to investigate.


What the Critics Say

Dark, gloomy and often sinister... An intelligent and convincing thriller with fleshed-out characters you want to meet again." (Daily Mail on The Dead Season)
"Death, espresso, and political manoeuvering...Brooding Italian noir." (Independent on Sunday on The Dead Season)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Absolutely addictive

I have now listened to four of the Sandro Cellini books one after another.Having visited Florence many times, I feel as if I am there with Sandro and his family as he works through each case and problem. Great credit must go to Saul Reichlin's superb narration. His voice describing the city and the atmosphere in each season of the year really engages you with Christobel Kent's characters. So involving, real and human that you are willing them to suceed. Sometimes slow and sometimes confused, Sandro gets there in the end in a realistic way. I have read, watched and listened to a number of Italian detectives and Sandro is now a firm favourite.
Read full review

- Nancy

A Darkness Decended

Would you try another book written by Christobel Kent or narrated by Saul Reichlin?

Might try the author again, but will avoid narrator as he ruined what might be quite a good story for me.

Would you recommend A Darkness Descending to your friends? Why or why not?

Not by this narrator, otherwise quite possibly.

Would you be willing to try another one of Saul Reichlin’s performances?


Read full review

- Phil Fos

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-11-2013
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks