A Faint Cold Fear : Grant County

  • by Karin Slaughter
  • Narrated by Dana Ivey
  • Series: Grant County
  • 6 hrs and 25 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sara Linton, medical examiner in the small town of Heartsdale, is called out to an apparent suicide on the local college campus. The mutilated body provides little in the way of clues - and the college authorities are keen to avoid a scandal - but for Sara and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, things don't add up. Two more suspicious suicides follow, and a young woman is brutally attacked. For Sara, the violence strikes far too close to home. And as Jeffrey pursues the sadistic killer, he discovers that ex-police detective Lena Adams, now a security guard on campus, may be in possession of crucial information. But, bruised and angered by her expulsion from the force, Lena seems to be barely capable of protecting herself, let alone saving the next victim...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Quite good, but not my cup of tea.

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

When you stroll through an art gallery you like some pictures whilst others are just not your taste, even though you can accept that they have merit. This is how I feel about this book. I just did not get hooked by it and it was a combination of small things. I did not like any of the characters. I thought that the back stories were patchy and not especially engaging. Also, I was not keen on the narrator, who did a fair job, but there was not enough difference between the characters and I could not suspend disbelief when she was portraying a male character. Finally, I thought that there were too many unlikely linkages/occurrences/characteristics, within the relatively small group of characters, for it to feel believable. I do not plan to try out any more of this author's many books.

What will your next listen be?

I will probably make a safe choice of a Michael Connelly book for my next read. I find that his books are consistently well written and entertaining.

Read full review

- Mark H

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-02-2008
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks