A Fine Place for Death, Mitchell and Markby Village, Book 6

  • by Ann Granger
  • Narrated by Judith Boyd
  • 9 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the heart of the Cotswolds, a body is found, that of a teenage girl, probably local - somebody's daughter who went out one evening and didn't come back. It's not long before she is identified: 15-year-old Lynne Wills, a habitual, underage drinker at The Silver Bells pub who, on the night of her death, was seen leaving with an unknown man. Chief Inspector Markby's friend, Meredith Mitchell, has been befriended by another troubled local girl, Katie Conway. On the surface, Lynne and Katie have nothing in common except their age and home town. But could the insights Katie gives Meredith into her difficult family background throw some light on the other young girl?


What the Critics Say

"Granger's deft plotting and elegant descriptive prose are in full play in the latest case featuring Inspector Alan Markby and his beloved Meredith Mitchell." (Publishers Weekly)
"Fans of British village procedurals will appreciate this latest Detective Inspector Alan Markby title." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another good story from Anne Granger

Anne Granger's stories are not grittily realistic, like Ian Rankin's or Peter Robinson's, and are more like a modern-day Agatha Christie in that multiple murders are committed in English villages and amateur sleuthing contributes to the final resolution. If you like that genre you'll enjoy this book (and her others) as she produces well-crafted stories and creates characters you can see in your imagination. The writer is well-served by the excellent reading by Judith Boyd.
Read full review

- Kirstine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2007
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks