A Lesson in Secrets : Maisie Dobbs

  • by Jacqueline Winspear
  • Narrated by Julie Teal
  • Series: Maisie Dobbs
  • 10 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the summer of 1932, Maisie Dobbs’s career takes an exciting new turn when she accepts an undercover assignment directed by Scotland Yard's Special Branch. Posing as a junior lecturer, she is sent to a private college in Cambridge to monitor any activities "not in the interests of His Majesty’s Government."
When the college's controversial pacifist founder and principal, Greville Liddicote, is murdered, Maisie is directed to stand back from the investigation. She soon discovers, however, that the circumstances of Liddicote’s death appear inextricably linked to the suspicious comings and goings of faculty and students under her surveillance....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A throughly good listen

Would you listen to A Lesson in Secrets again? Why?

I really enjoyed this book, and will enjoy listening to it again and again over future months and years. The plot is excellent, without too much in the way of distractions. No obscene words, just the 'b' word a couple of times. Both times it was in context, quite funny in fact.

What other book might you compare A Lesson in Secrets to, and why?

There isn't another book I could compare it with, it is unique in its own field.

Have you listened to any of Julie Teal’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No, but I am looking forward to doing so having downloaded two more audio books.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, but unfortunately one does have to go to bed!

Any additional comments?

I wish I had discovered this author sooner.

Read full review

- Mrs. Rm Walters

I loved this book

Beautifully read, a good old fashioned crime story with personal lives thrown in.

Not thrilling or cripping, but a relaxing crime novel to listen to.

I really recommend this book.
Read full review

- Denise

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-06-2012
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks