A Line of Blood

  • by Ben McPherson
  • Narrated by Peter Noble
  • 12 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary


A chilling psychological thriller about family - the ties that bind us and the lies that destroy us. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl.
You find your neighbour dead in his bath. Your son is with you. He sees everything. You discover your wife has been in the man's house. It seems she knew him. Now the police need to speak to you.
One night turns Alex Mercer's life upside down. He loves his family, and he wants to protect them, but there is too much he doesn't know.
He doesn't know how the cracks in his and Millicent's marriage have affected their son, Max. Or how Millicent's bracelet came to be under the neighbour's bed. He doesn't know how to be a father to Max when his own world is shattering into pieces.
Then the murder investigation begins....

More

What the Critics Say

"Ben McPherson has a very distinctive voice, and A Line of Blood is cleverly put together." (Val McDermid)
"A tense, touching, smartly written thriller with a very clever twist. McPherson is an impressive new voice." (Tim Lott)
"A hugely impressive debut, well written and psychologically acute; a devastating depiction of a family tearing itself apart." (Paul Johnston)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent

Where does A Line of Blood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This belongs to the style if gone girl. Very interesting take on the story told in the first person. Unfolds very interestingly by getting to know the characters intimately. Like them or loath them, the psychological profiles are understandable. . No unnecessary waffle. The story is well paced. I'm nearly finished it but still can't predict how it will end


What was one of the most memorable moments of A Line of Blood?

There are several moments when background information just decloaks, blink and you'll miss them.. You can't afford to fast forward, not that you'd want to. This is a new writer I believe. Could be wrong about this but I can't wait for the next book. Sad to be ending this book. It's a psychologically deep insight into flawed characters that you may not like. Very original take on story telling. I enjoyed the tone and atmosphere of the book


What about Peter Noble’s performance did you like?

Perfect narration. Great match for the lead character. Quirky. Would definitely listen to him again


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not really as the characters neither evoke loathing, admiration, or pity. They are not particularly likeable but this does not detract from story. The narration sets the scene,


Any additional comments?

I loved it and will be hard pressed to pick a next book that equals this. Worth a credit for sure

Read full review

- Marie

This is a work of art

Wow- this is not just a story - this tangled web is a fantastic observation of life. Beautifully and skilfully written and narrated. Strong hints of Ian Mcewans Enduring Love. I was literally transfixed from beginning to end.
Read full review

- Pam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-03-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited