A Personal Devil : Magdalene la Batarde

  • by Roberta Gellis
  • Narrated by Nadia May
  • Series: Magdalene la Batarde
  • 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 12th century London, Magdalene la Bâtarde is the madam of the Old Priory Guesthouse in Southwark. She is not in the least bit sorry to learn that Bertrild, the unpleasant wife of Master Mainard, is dead. Bertrild was insulting to most people. She made threats, using terrible revelations as a weapon against those who would not bow down to her demanding ways. However, when it seems that Mainard will be charged with Bertrild's murder, because no one accepts the oath of a whore that he is innocent, Magdalene, with her handsome friend, Sir Bellamy, decides to investigate.

More

What the Critics Say

"In addition to a well-crafted plot, moments of heart-stopping suspense, and a dramatic conclusion, the author provides poignant glimpses into the humanity of her characters, particularly the women of the guesthouse." (Publishers Weekly)
"Yet another authentically detailed medieval mystery featuring a proactive feminist as the detective." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Too much information

I didn't want to hear so much about sexual activity in brothels. Émile Zola managed to portray all the vices of Second Empire Paris without the detail in "Nana"!
The author's final explanation of her view of this period of history is biased and dumbed down. I wish she hadn't "dissed" David I (and thereby Scotland, my country) in a throwaway line, which amply demonstrates her crude appreciation of history.
The plot is convoluted and contrived. I'm still not sure I know "whodunnit", after listening twice.
Perhaps the hook that induced me to persevere with another book was my curiosity about the "back stories" of main characters- did the ridiculously named madam murder her husband, her lover, or both? Why did the vindictive wife, bumped off early on, to nobody's regret, marry a man she has always despised? (The seeds of that particular mystery were sewn in book one.)
Read full review

- Mary Carnegie

great book

I really have enjoyed both these books . My only criticism is that there are so many characters that at times it got a little confusing but over all a good story well narrated. Fans of Candace Robb and Peter Elliot should enjoy these.
Read full review

- Jennifer Chennell

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-09-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.