A Personal Devil : Magdalene la Batarde

  • by Roberta Gellis
  • Narrated by Nadia May
  • Series: Magdalene la Batarde
  • 10 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 12th century London, Magdalene la Bâtarde is the madam of the Old Priory Guesthouse in Southwark. She is not in the least bit sorry to learn that Bertrild, the unpleasant wife of Master Mainard, is dead. Bertrild was insulting to most people. She made threats, using terrible revelations as a weapon against those who would not bow down to her demanding ways. However, when it seems that Mainard will be charged with Bertrild's murder, because no one accepts the oath of a whore that he is innocent, Magdalene, with her handsome friend, Sir Bellamy, decides to investigate.

More

What the Critics Say

"In addition to a well-crafted plot, moments of heart-stopping suspense, and a dramatic conclusion, the author provides poignant glimpses into the humanity of her characters, particularly the women of the guesthouse." (Publishers Weekly)
"Yet another authentically detailed medieval mystery featuring a proactive feminist as the detective." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great book

I really have enjoyed both these books . My only criticism is that there are so many characters that at times it got a little confusing but over all a good story well narrated. Fans of Candace Robb and Peter Elliot should enjoy these.
Read full review

- jennifer seabourne-chennell

12th Century London

I found this book interesting in that it gave many fine details about life in London in the medieval period under the reign of Stephen, but I found if difficult to get into this story. I was disappointed because I am interested in this period, but I found the characters bland and the story's structure weak. Perhaps because I have not read any of the others in the series I was not following the progress of these characters as familiar friends. I did listen to the end to find out who dunnit, but really did not mind as the characters had not captured my imagination. I know that Madalene La Batard is a whore mistress and that the women of the Old Priory Guesthouse play a vital role in the story but they did not interest me nor I felt add much to story except to show one of the few ways a woman could earn an independent living in this period.

Perhpas I will try another story in this series, but at the moment I feel luke warm about it.
Read full review

- Rogayah

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-09-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.