A Question of Blood : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 13 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A shooting incident at a private school just north of Edinburgh. Two 17-year olds killed by an ex-Army loner who has gone off the rails. As Detective Inspector John Rebus puts it, 'there's no mystery'... except the why. This question takes Rebus into the heart of a shattered community. Ex-Army himself, Rebus becomes fascinated by the killer, and finds he is not alone. Army investigators are on the scene, and won't be shaken off. The killer had friends and enemies to spare - ranging from civic leaders to the local Goths - leaving behind a legacy of secrets and lies. Rebus has his share of personal problems, too. He's fresh out of hospital, hands heavily bandaged, and he won't say how it happened. Could there be a connection with a house-fire and the unfortunate death of a petty criminal who had been harassing Rebus's colleague Siobhan Clarke? Rebus's bosses seem to think so...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

DI John Rebus - Edinburgh's best.

No matter how many Rebus books I read (or hear!) I never fail to love the grouchy, alcoholic, genius detective that is DI John Rebus.
He can at times be distant, cold, objectionable, unfathomable, bad tempered and wilful but he's a man who knows what's right. He doesn't hesitate in doing whatever has to be done to ensure that the innocent are protected. He'll risk his career, he'll trample on (often high ranking) toes, he'll jeopardise his life and health, he'll glower and he'll grumble.
But John Rebus will NOT stop until he's solved his case.
And that's why I love him.
Thank you Mr Rankin for creating him.
Read full review

- Spankey IL

A classic Rebus.

Really enjoyed the twists and turns of the storyline which kept me engaged throughout. Rankin's characters are well described, seasoning the plot. long live Rebus (and Ian Rankin).
Read full review

- Geg

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-09-2011
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited