A Restless Evil, Mitchell and Markby Village, Book 14

  • by Ann Granger
  • Narrated by Judith Boyd
  • 10 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It sends a shiver down Detective Superintendent Alan Markby's spine when he hears that a rambler has stumbled across human bones in Stovey Woods in the heart of the Cotswolds. Twenty-two years earlier, as a fresh-faced young inspector, he had a rare failure in the hunt for a brutal serial rapist preying on local women. After the third rape, the attacker went to ground, never to be heard of again. Now, with a new investigation prompted by the grisly remains, the trail could be warm once more. But almost immediately, Markby is confronted with another body and a thoroughly up-to-date murder. Could the two be connected? Perhaps, but it seems that some of the village residents would be just as happy to let sleeping dogs lie and secrets, both old and new, stay hidden.


What the Critics Say

"The author demonstrates her skill at updating the traditional English village murder mystery." (Publishers Weekly)
"This is a rock-solid British village procedural, complete with detailed setting, slightly degenerate denizens, and ongoing personal conflicts." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Engrossing crime story

One is carried along by the narrative eager to find out what happens next. The characters are well-drawn so one doesn't get confused who is whom. Carol Boyd is an excellent reader.
Read full review

- Kirstine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-01-2007
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks