A Sudden, Fearful Death : William Monk

  • by Anne Perry
  • Narrated by Davina Porter
  • Series: William Monk
  • 15 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Anne Perry's Victorian murder mysteries have enthralled millions with their evocative atmosphere and finely-crafted suspense. Now, in this mesmerizing best seller, the star of these mysteries, Inspector William Monk, returns to solve the most heartbreaking case of his career. Prudence Barrymore braved the horrors of war to nurse the wounded on the battlefronts of the Crimea. Shortly after she returned to England, she was strangled to death in a hospital. Inspector Monk is instantly convinced that her death was not a random act of violence, but a deliberately-plotted murder.
Who would murder the courageous young nurse? And why? With the help of Prudence's friend, Nurse Hester Latterly, Inspector Monk works feverishly to find the answers. In an explosive courtroom confrontation, he will expose a cunning murderer, and a horrifying evil that threatens every woman in England.
For all Inspector Monk fans, and for all listeners encountering this extraordinary mystery series for the first time, A Sudden, Fearful Death is an unforgettable listening experience.


What the Critics Say

"Anne Perry's mysteries, set in Victorian England and featuring William Monk and Hester Latterly, are engrossing....Anne Perry and Davina Porter seem made for each other. Porter reads in a manner that enhances the story and completely immerses the listener in the various characters, no matter what their sex or station in life. She captures the essence of each person's voice as the novel moves from an arrest to a trial and a surprising conclusion" (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Much too long and I can't think of anything good to say about it. Excellent reader otherwise I'd have given up after a couple of hours. I persevered to the end just to get my money's worth but I shan't be reading any other books by this author.
Read full review

- janet

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-08-2004
  • Publisher: Recorded Books