Summary

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham.
A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes.
DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case. But the police have no leads except the body of the bird - and the victim's missing eyes.
As flashbacks from his past begin to intrude, Cody realises he is battling not just a murderer but his own inner demons, too. And then the killer strikes again, and Cody realises the threat isn't to the people of Liverpool after all - it's to the police.
Following the success and acclaim of the Callum Doyle novels, A Tapping at My Door is the first instalment of David Jackson's new Nathan Cody series.
©2016 David Jackson (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kit on 24-04-16

Gripping thirller well worth a listen.

Very good storyline and fantastic narrator. This is my first book by David Jackson and I am already looking for the next. I thought the narration was superb and especially liked the accents. This is a serious story but some people will always see humour in the darkest subjects. This was reflected in things said by the characters so the story was made all the more real to me for that. Well recommended.

Read more Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

Excellent Story well worth a listen

I wondered where this story was going in the first few chapters but so glad I kept on listening to which turned out to be an excellent story. I won't spoil it for you.
The narrator was brilliant and brought the characters to life.
I am now going to look for more books by David Jackson to listen to.

Read more Hide me

23 of 24 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By green ice cream garden on 28-06-16

5 Star Start, Wowed.

It's rare for me to give the highest rating to the start of a series. I'm reserved because usually the characters don't quite mesh or the mystery is an easy one that will build in upcoming books. But, wow, this one is a grand exception. The way Jackson describes the relationships makes the reader feel like you already know the personalities and just can't wait to learn more about them. He delivers with this as well as the character development is deep and engaging. There isn't a single page that was boring; the suspense is dark and intriguing. The mystery had me foiled to the very end. The downside is having to wait for the next installment. Oh, and if you like soccer at all, this book has enough thrown in to really make it worth the time to read it. Highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys British detective stories.

Read more Hide me

48 of 51 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By L. O. Pardue on 12-04-16

Surprised by how Good It Was

I bought this beginning of a new series with low expectations. I almost stopped after the first chapter, because it started off somewhat silly and scary. I wanted to read a police procedural -- not a horror story. But after the first murder, and the introduction of detective Nathan Cody, I was hooked and enjoyed this listen from that point forward. The narration was excellent.

I hope I won't be waiting too long for the next installment. This is my favorite type of book.

Read more Hide me

69 of 74 people found this review helpful

See all reviews